Narwhal Party


CATCHER IN A WEEKEND. 2.5-2.7.
01/31/2010, 4:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Many readers are reflecting on the death of J.D. Salinger and the significance of his most popular novel, The Catcher In The Rye—a book that has left a prominent impact on countless teenagers since its release in 1951. Most teens tend to gravitate toward the book’s protagonist, Holden Caulfield, and his alienated perspective. Personally, I didn’t read Catcher until I was nearly twenty and had a hard time identifying with what seemed to be an endless stream of pessimism and bitterness. As I gear up to teach the book to high school juniors, I plan on re-reading it for the first time.

Here’s where you come in. I’m sure that many of you have either never read the book, or haven’t read it in several years. I want to encourage you to read it with me, this coming weekend, February 5-7. Catcher In A Weekend. Three days seems like adequate time to read such a slim book, so go for it. I’ll be posting my thoughts with regards to the accuracy of my recollection of the novel and my responses now that I’m a (little) bit older. Read it with me, and post comments with your own responses, now that you are world-weary and wise. Do you read it differently? Is it better? Worse? More/less poignant?

Go!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

okay, I’m in, but I better start now.

Comment by Andie

Hi Christian,

Nice to see you have a blog. I absolutely understand what you mean about this particular book. I have read it many times and it was best the very first time, that can not be said for all things. It was also part of my curriculum as a 23 year old teacher and I while the students seemed to embrace it I was not as nearly enamored with Holden as I once was:) I read it again about a year ago and could have just as well done without it. I’ve always been more of a Nine Stories girl. That said, I wish you look and am interested in reading what you think.

Comment by france

luck, I wish you LUCK

Comment by france




Leave a Reply

